Thursday Apr 27


Validity of a stay

(1 vote, average 4.00 out of 5)

Validity of a stay

validityUpon arrival, travellers with this type of visa will be permitted to stay in Thailand for a period of not exceeding 30 days or 60 days.

Nationals of countries which are on Thailand’s Tourist Visa Exemption list or have bilateral agreements on visa exemption with Thailand will be permitted to stay for a period of not exceeding 60 days. Nationals from other countries who hold a tourist visa will be permitted to stay in Thailand for a period of not exceeding 30 days.

Extension of stay

Those who wish to stay longer or may wish to change their type of visa must file an application for permission at the Office of Immigration Bureau located on Soi Suan Plu, off South Sathorn Road, Bangkok 10120 , Tel 02 287-3101-10 (or at ). The extension of stay as well as the change of certain type of visa is solely at the discretion of the Immigration officer...

Nationals of certain countries are required to apply for a visa only at the Thai Embassy or Consulate-General in their home/residence country or at the designated Thai Embassy. Therefor, travellers are adivised to contact the nearest Thai Embassy or Consulate-General to find out where they may apply for a visa to Thailand before departure. (Applicants who are nationals of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Syria, Iraq, Iran, Lebanon, Sudan, Algeria, Libya, Yemen, Egypt and Palestinian State)

Tourist visa exemption

According to the Interior Ministerial Announcements dated 1 October B.E. 2545 (2002), 20 December B.E. 2545 (2002), 18 October B.E. 2547 (2004) and 6 May B.E. 2548 (2005), passport holders from 42 countries and 1 special administrative region – Hong Kong SAR – are not required to obtain a visa when entering Thailand for tourism purposes and will be permitted to stay in the Kingdom for a period of not exceeding 30 days on each visit. Foreigners who enter the Kingdom under the Tourist Visa Exemption category may re-enter and stay in Thailand for a cumulative duration of stay of not exceeding 90 days within any 6-month period from the date of first entry.

Please note that Tourist Visa Exemption does not apply to foreigners holding Travel Document for Aliens issued by these 40 countries.

Foreigners entering Thailand under the Tourist Visa Exemption category must possess adequate finances for the duration of stay in Thailand (i.e., cash 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family)

List of 42 countries are as follow :

  1. Australia : Commonwealth of Australia
  2. Austria : Republic of Austria
  3. Belgium : Kingdom of Belgium
  4. Brazil : Federative Republic of Brazil (****)
  5. Bahrain : State of Bahrain
  6. Brunei Darussalam : Negara Brunei Darussalam
  7. Canada
  8. Denmark : Kingdom of Denmark
  9. Finland : Republic of Finland
  10. France : French Republic
  11. Germany : Federal Republic of Germany
  12. Greece : Hellenic Republic
  13. Hong Kong : Hong Kong Special Administrative Region
  14. Iceland : Republic of Iceland
  15. Indonesia : Republic of Indonesia
  16. Ireland : Republic of Ireland
  17. Israel : State of Israel
  18. Italy : Republic of Italy
  19. Japan
  20. Korea : Republic of Korea (****)
  21. Kuwait : State of Kuwait
  22. Luxembourg : Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  23. Malaysia
  24. Monaco : Principality of Monaco
  25. Netherlands : Kingdom of the Netherlands
  26. New Zealand
  27. Norway : Kingdom of Norway
  28. Oman : Sultanate of Oman
  29. Peru : Republic of Peru (****)
  30. Philippines : Republic of the Philippines
  31. Portugal : Republic of Portugal
  32. Qatar : State of Qatar
  33. Singapore : Republic of Singapore
  34. Spain : Kingdom of Spain
  35. South Africa : Republic of South Africa
  36. Sweden : Kingdom of Sweden
  37. Switzerland : Swiss Confederation
  38. Turkey : Republic of Turkey
  39. United Arab Emirates
  40. United Kingdom : United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  41. United States of America
  42. Vietnam : Socialist Republic of Vietnam

(****)Thailand holds bilateral agreements on visa exemption for holders of diplomatic, official and ordinary passports for a visit of not exceeding 90 days with Brazil, the Republic of Korea and Peru. Therefore, nationals of these 3 countries are exempted from visa requirements and are permitted to enter and stay in Thailand for a period of not exceeding 90 days.

Hits: 3293
Comments (0)Add Comment

Write comment
smaller | bigger

security code
Write the displayed characters



Where do you like to go in Thailand?

Chiang Mai - 19.1%
Sukhothai - 4%
Ayutthaya - 3%
Pattaya - 30.2%
Hua Hin - 13.1%
Koh Samui - 9.5%
Koh Phi Phi - 4.5%
Phuket - 16.6%

Total votes: 199
The voting for this poll has ended on: 31 Dec 2011 - 00:00

Who's Online

We have 89 guests online